westcountyfireRural Metro Fire Department has been providing fire and emergency medical services to western Maricopa County residents since 1962.

Rural Metro operates on an individual subscription basis with most residents of Maricopa County. This means fire protection and emergency medical services are not paid for through taxes and residents are responsible for establishing a fire service account directly with Rural Metro Fire.

In the western Maricopa County area, Rural Metro has two responding engine companies, bringing the total in Maricopa County stations to nine. There are six firefighters on duty at all times, including at least two paramedics.

Should additional resources become necessary, Rural Metro Fire has a mutual aid agreement in place with the City of Phoenix. Rural Metro Fire crews in the western Maricopa County area are led by Battalion Chief Robert Bombiadi.